Villa Maria School





Informations and facts

The central building of the School Villa Maria is the house built for Mr. Monk in 1803. The house also called Monkland, served as a residence for the general governors of Canada between 1844 and 1849.

In 1854, the religious congregation of Notre-Dame acquires the building and founded the bilingual school still in operation today as she home now nearly 1,200 students, again in both languages.

home of James Monk (center) date of 1803, however, the main wings were added in 1844 and 1855.

This building has been classified a historical monument January 30, 1976 by the Ministry of Culture and Communications.

More pictures

Architect

Victor Bourgeau

Modifications :
1870- Aile de la chapelle - Henri-Maurice Perrault | 1930 Donat-Arthur Gascon et Louis Parant Aile Sainte-Marguerite


Discover more:


   Architecture - schools and universities

6 images
Mount-Royal

École Saint-Clément

1560, boulevard Laird

1941 3 Floors
1 images
Montréal Nord

Centre Académique Fournier

10339, avenue du parc-Georges

1941 2 Floors
1 images
Verdun
1941 2 Floors
3 images
Mile-end

École des Premières lettres

5210, rue Waverly / Rue Fairmount

1940 3 Floors

Building achieved the same year (1803)

    Lachine

  • Alexander Gordon's Fur WareHouse »»
  Facts about Montreal

  • Montreal was founded in 1642 by Maisonneuve
  • Montreal is the second largest city in Canada
  • There are more then 480 buildings over 10 storeys in Montreal
  Statistics about this page
1023 page views for this month

47405 hits on this page

Imtl.org has no relation with owner of this building

Almost all our images can be purchased in hight resolution format - 5000 * 3500 pixels,Contact us

All pictures on this website are protected through copyright. Anyone who uses them on personal or commersial websites or other media, commits a violation of the law

© 2005-2025 | Images Montréal Imtl.org | All Rights Reserved